Jaipur- the pink city

Chips crunched in my mouth and some of the masala spilled on my kurta, I smiled. The Innova was traveling at 100+ speed, I snuggled into my mom’s shawl and she smiled lovingly. Finally I had been able coax them, to take a trip to Jaipur. I dozed off soon into the warmth of the shawl, my brother woke me up for playing a game of antakshari. I enjoy traveling and love the part where we stop for breaks in mid of a journey. We took a short tea break at a nice place, and I felt exited as in next 3 hours I will be in Jaipur.

Albert Hall.
It was 8 pm when I stepped into the lobby with dragging the heavy suitcase, the beautiful mughali painting and the interior of the hotel got my attention. I settled into my room, I was sharing with mom and dad. My uncle and aunt and my two brothers settled into rooms adjacent of ours. After scrolling through the Jaipur tourist magazine and getting fresh, we all dashed out for dinner. It was 11:30 by the time we finished dinner, we all agreed on walking back to the hotel through the lonely roads where we almost got lost, but made our way back successfully. After a round of tea, playing cards and laughing thoroughly for 2 hours, we slept peacefully, to wake up and explore the pink city.

I think it’s the beauty and popularity of this city that made me and my brothers fight over the breakfast while we were discussing which place to visit first. I had my list ready of what all is must and so did they. The dispute was sought later with the arrangement of the guide. At 9:30, with brimming excitement I began to witness the vibrant and glorious Jaipur.

The beautiful Amber fort is half an hour drive away from the main city. The fort is known for its inherent Rajput artistic style, and its ornate and breathtaking architecture. It overlooks Maotha Lake, and Jaigarh Fort is located on a hill above the Amber complex, which is visible from the entrance of the fort. Exploring the palace was real fun, my brothers and i went apart from the guide and parents and went to some of the restricted areas, then got a warning from one of the guards. There are four sections in the fort. The movie Jodha Akbar was shoot in some parts of the palace, I saw those locations and felt like Aishwariya Rai cooking food in those big utensils. Round the fort there is a wall which is spread in wide area and was used for protection purposes. The magnificent fort made it difficult for us to go out of it, but we had to.

Next we went to Jal Mahal, which is situated in mid of waters and was used by the kings for hunting of birds. How cruel, but that’s royalty. The Hawa Mahal or the palace of winds. It is made in the form of a beehive with 953 small windows called jharokhas; the intention for making it was to allow royal ladies to observe everyday life in the street below without being seen, since they had to observe strict purdah. What a bonded life they had! Then the Kanak garden adjoining the Govind temple is very nice with some great fountains.

Sisodia Rani Ka Bagh is a beautiful garden which was built by Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh, with an intention to gift the garden, to his Sisodia Queen from Udaipur. How romantic! The Garden appeals more to the beholder, since it stands as a symbol of love.  After spending time in the lap of nature we headed towards Jantar Mantar. I thought it would be similar to the one in Delhi but I was proved wrong the moment I entered it. It is the largest stone Astronomical Observatory in the World; you can calculate correct time, angle, degree, rashi and nakshatras. How intelligent our ancestors were! The impressive Albert Hall was next in row, which is a museum. The weapons, artillery, armor, dresses, jewellery, paintings, and other things speak volumes about the rich past of Rajasthan- the real Rajputana. Maharaja Sawai Ram Singh II built it in 1868 as a relief project for his famine struck subjects and named after Albert, the consort of Queen Victoria’s husband.

This excursion till now had tired us, so we took some rest and then in the evening left for Chowki Dhani. It is situated on the out skirts of Jaipur with an ethnic village attached to the resort. Many exiting activities such as- camel riding, elephant riding, bull cart riding, archery, kalbeliya dances, puppet shows, magic shows, kancha playing, a little bhulbhulaiya, a so much more that I can’t even write. The cherry on top was the food with the style of food and the host. Mirchi Bada, Pyaaj ki kachori, Ghewar, Churma, Gatte ki sabji… Oh! The thought of it brings water to my mouth. I bet you can die eating there, it is indeed a must visit.

Beautiful ceiling

With such a wonderful day full of enjoyment and amazement, I captured all the memories in my mind and headed back towards the hotel. Next day I woke up and remembered the fun i had yesterday and prepared myself for the day as I had to go shopping. The local bazaars like Bapu bazar and Nehru bazar provide a lot of variety of laak jewellery, mojri, kurtas, puppets etc.

There is something about this place; it makes you feel as if you belong here. While on the way back home, I was recollecting the whole journey and the fun I had, it bought a smile on my face. I saw the other people in the Innova sleeping as the car was running smooth at 100+ speed, my mother’s shawl was inviting me and soon I woke up to see my home sweet home.

3 thoughts on “Jaipur- the pink city

  1. Pingback: Colors of India « Explore with Payal

  2. Hello! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  3. This design is steller! You obviously know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

    Like

Leave a Reply

